Indian Administrative Service

What is meant by IAS?

The Indian Administrative Service is popularly referred to as the IAS and was formally constituted in 1947. It is the premier service in India and offers an attractive and challenging career. There is fame and glamour also associated with this service for those who have excell in their posts. Even though most people think being the District Magistrate or Collector is the most powerful and glamorous post, an IAS holds power at all levels of his/her job. IAS is the service that places the officer right at the top of any government organization. If you are a determined person you can change a lot of things as an IAS officer.

IAS Career Profile

The IAS officers handle affairs of the government. At the state and central level, this involves the framing of the policies and its implementation. At the district level, IAS is concerned with district affairs, including developmental duties. At the divisional level, the IAS officers look after law and order, general administration and various developmental works. Becoming a collector is just one of the jobs an IAS officers takes up in his long career. As secretary of various departments an IAS officer heads the organisation and takes it ahead.

IAS Career Options

Members of the Indian Administrative Service hold various administrative posts like District Collector, Heads of Departments, and Head of Public Enterprises at the state level. They can also be posted on deputation to the Central Government to various posts.

IAS Career Structure

  • Sub-Divisional Magistrate in a sub-division of a district (Entry)/Section Officer in Central Govt. District Magistrate (Collector) in a district or Joint Secretary in State Government or Undersecratary/Principal Private Secretary in Govt. of India
  • District Magistrate (Collector ) in a district or a Deputy Secretary/Senior Principal Private Secretary (Senior PPS) in the central government.
  • Divisional Comisioner/Special Secretary of state government or a Director/Principal Staff Officer(PSO) of Central Govt.
  • Divisional Commissioner in a division or Secretary in state government or position of Joint Secretary to Govt. of India.
  • Principal Secretaries/Financial Commissioners in states, Additional Secretaries to the Govt. of India
  • Chief Secretary of States, Union Secretaries in charge of various ministries of Govt. of India

IAS Career Progression

Besides, IAS officers can be appointed in autonomous organizations/sub ordinate organizations/PSUs/UN Organizations/international organizations like World Bank, Asian Development Bank in Various capacities. They also serve as Personal Secretaries to Ministers in Central Government. There is provision for deputation of IAS officers to private organizations also for a fixed tenure. Some of the IAS officers even become governors of states.

IAS EXAM Eligibility

The eligibility criteria for the IAS exam is the same as for other services. Once the candidate clears the civil services and gets allotment to the Indian foriegn service as per his rank, he has to go through specified training.

IAS Recruitment and Training

Along with the selected Civil Service officers, the trainee IAS officers have to undergo 15 weeks training. Here after they are shifted to the two stages of training before serving the actual service.

In stage I of the training, the officers learn to expand the perfect proficient qualities in managing the huge arrays of tasks which has to be taken up for the first 10 years of service that is for 26 weeks. Then district training for several parts of administrative responsibilities of regional sorts, including location study of assignment for the academy. The duration is of 52 weeks where the officers experiences about the actual execution of the regional administration. The district training aims for the allotment of Cadres for the actual appointment.

In stage II of the training, the officers have to execute the district level tasks experiences acquired in a course of one year onsite training along with the skilled program learned in foundation training.

On successful completion of probation for almost two years, the IAS officers are placed as SDM (Sub Divisional Magistrate also known as District Magistrate or Sub-Collector). On this position the IAS officers lead the department with key responsibilities of Revenue, General Administration, Developmental Work, Law and Order as per their work assignment.

IAS Exam

The IAS exam 2019 is well underway with the first step of the prelims exam being already over on 2nd June 2019.

IAS syllabus

The syllabus for the civil services exam in 2019 and every other year is the same for the IAS as well as other services. There is generally no difference from year to year. Once in a few years they may tweak or overhaul the syllabus or pattern of the exam.

IAS Officer Salary

Grade Pay Scale
Apex Scale ₹80,000 (fixed)
Above Super Time Scale ₹67,000-80,000
Super Time Scale ₹37,400-₹67,000 plus grade pay of₹10000
Selection Grade ₹37,400-₹67,000 plus grade Pay of₹8700
Junior Administrative Grade ₹15,600-₹39,100 plus grade pay of₹7600
Senior Time Scale ₹15,600-₹39,100 plus grade pay of₹6600
Junior Time Scale ₹15,600-₹39,100 plus grade pay of₹5400

IAS being an ‘All India Service’ follows the Cadre system. In this system officers are allotted to state cadres, not necessarily to your home state. So for all practical purposes you belong to that state service but may be deputed elsewhere in the country. However you’ll always be recognized by your allotted state cadre. This system though very useful tends to positively and negatively affect the careers of an IAS officer. The cadre system is allotted on a basis of lottery and only the toppers of each state may get a chance to serve their home state if they have opted for such a preference.

Leave a Reply

Discover more from IASstudyportal

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue Reading